Our last Releases Round-up of 2020

Our most recent LP and EP releases feature two Tru Thoughts compilations, an EP from J-Felix and a couple of digital releases that give a new lease of life to the originals from Freddie Cruger and Alice Russell.

Tru Thoughts presents ‘Covers 3’

The third instalment of the label’s ‘Covers’ compilation series, compiled by A&R, label co-founder and renowned DJ Robert Luis, the release brings together unique and captivating cover versions by past and present artists on the roster, which have been released and loved as album tracks, singles or one-offs alongside exclusive re-workings. The LP is released digitally and on a limited run of 500 hand-numbered ice cream coloured vinyl (plus download card with all 18 tracks).

‘Covers 3’ features adaptations of originals from a host of iconic artists including afrobeat pioneer Fela Kuti; peripheral soul figure William DeVaughn; pre-eminent jazz fusion band Weather Report; American music innovator Duke Ellington; anthemic jungle duo Shy FX & Apache; golden age hip-hop duet Pete Rock & CL Smooth; idiosyncratic and elliptical singer-songwriter Frank Ocean, plus many more. ‘Tru Thoughts Covers 3’ makes for an exceptional listen, re-contextualising well-loved classics with a fresh edge. Familiar Tru Thoughts faces stepping up to the ‘Covers’ plate include cover rearrangement aficionados Hot 8 Brass Band, Sly5thAve, Magic Drum Orchestra and Quantic, alongside J-Felix, sUb_modU, Soul Central, Jesse Fischer, Mark de Clive-Lowe, The Seshen, Animanz and Pieces of a Man plus Carolina Lins & Os Planatos with their infectiously lively Música Popular Brasileira (MPB) reworking of the Kaiser Chiefs’ classic “I Predict A Riot” (as featured on the soundtrack of ‘Kaiser: The Greatest Footballer Never to Play Football’).
As well as many of these covers being pressed to vinyl for the first time there is an exclusive unreleased tune that has been sought out and signed specifically for this compilation; Adam Prescott and Deemas J’s collaborative flip of Peter Rock & CL Smooth’s – “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y)”.

Check out ‘Covers 3’ HERE


J-Felix – ‘Give Me Some of That EP’

Brighton-based producer, DJ & multi-instrumentalist J-Felix releases this New York-inspired EP featuring remixes from WheelUP, Dreeemweaver, Andy Baker and a J-Felix bruk flip from Joe Newman himself.
“Give Me Some Of That EP” follows on from J-Felix’s formative second album ‘Whole Again Hooligan’ and summertime EP “Be Thankful”. “Give Me Some Of That EP” opens with the NY inspired title track; an over-the-internet-collaboration with vocalist Afua and “a sonic representation of rainy New York” in the words of Joe aka J-Felix. Elsewhere on the EP J-Felix reinterprets his own material, flipping “Whole Again Hooligan” featuring the vocal flair of Sol Goodman, into a bruk drum frenzy. Broken beat revivalist and Tru Thoughts label-mate WheelUP follows suit on “Good Ol’Love feat. Sol Goodman”. While Dreeemweaver – the alias of Emeson, who sings on the original version of Glide – puts his unique production spin on the track. Lastly, fellow Brighton-based DJ and producer Andy Baker pushes “Choppa Fiesta” into even more of a dancefloor tool.

Listen to ‘Give Me Some of That’ HERE


‘Tru Thoughts: Acappellas Volume One’

There is a long history of musicians releasing acappella versions of their songs, a track of isolated vocals that can be used in creative ways to add flavour to a mixtape, or to be re-worked into something new entirely. ‘Tru Thoughts: Acappellas Volume One’ is the first in a brand-new series of compilations focusing on the label’s own long-standing tradition of releasing acappellas, compiled and curated by A&R, label co-founder and renowned DJ Robert Luis. The release brings together music from across the label’s rich and varied roster, digging deep into 21 years’ worth of back catalogue, alongside highlighting new and up-and-coming signings. It’s a release that says exactly what it does on the sleeve. A sought-after and essential tool for all DJs and producers, freshly dug out from the Tru Thoughts vault.

‘Tru Thoughts: Acappellas Volume One’ are available to download HERE


‘The Wildcookie Cookie Dough Instrumentals’

Freddie Cruger presents ‘The Wildcookie Cookie Dough Instrumentals’; a digital LP of the instrumentals and bonus tracks featured on the 2011 original album with Anthony Mills. Featuring the beats of fan favourites – including “Heroine” which received upfront support from Gilles Peterson on Radio 1 ahead of original release – ‘The Wildcookie Cookie Dough Instrumentals’ are an abundance of timeless ultra-crisp productions and sophisticated synthline melodies.

From the soft keys of “Song With No Ending”, to the South American piano swagger of “Serious Drug” to the pulsating bassline of “On The Road” and the driving Kraftwerk synths of “Piece Of Mind” every track on the album was selected by Cruger for its particular mood; based on flow, variety and content. ‘The Wildcookie Cookie Dough Instrumentals’ is the result of breaking boundaries and finding new routes into making soul, hip hop, R’n’B and breaks.

Check out the album HERE


Alice Russell – ‘Pot of Gold’ 

We are pleased to announce that Alice Russell’s ‘Pot Of Gold’ album from 2008, produced by TM Juke is now available digitally worldwide via Tru Thoughts. Check it out, across all platforms, wherever you listen to music HERE