WheelUP releases ‘We Are The Magic’

“WheelUP never misses!” – Jamz Supernova (BBC 6Music)
“He does it every time!” – Gilles Peterson
“The epitome of the West London sound” – Jaguar (BBC Radio 1)
“A fat, funky and bass-charged cut” – DJ Mag

Producer and DJ WheelUP, aka West London’s Danny Wheeler, has released his sophomore album ‘We Are The Magic’  🎧 https://truthoughts.ffm.to/watm.OWE

Built around concepts such as the law of attraction, humanitarianism, and spiritualism ‘We Are The Magic’ adds to the broken beat canon while showcasing WheelUP’s most mature and forward-thinking work to date. The LP boasts contributions and collaborations with a host of talent: Kaidi Tatham, Sam Interface, Abacus, Victoria Port (Anushka), Toya Delazy, Spaceship Coyote, Destiny Will, Brint Story, Steelo and more.

Journeying through broken beat, jazz-funk, hip-hop, trap, bass, house, neo-soul and beyond, across the album’s eleven tracks, WheelUP embarks on a sonic exploration filled with synthesis, polyrhythms and creative innovative techniques. Talking about the concept of ‘We Are The Magic’, Danny explains: “It’s a somewhat esoteric idea that we (humanity) are the magic of life, whether that is a smile from a stranger that uplifts another person or some piece of kindness that has a butterfly effect and affects someone or something else in a positive way. Magic is excitement, the spark of life and life itself is a magical experience.”

The album is centred around collaborations with the West London producer. From lead-single “More Love” and titular track “We Are The Magic”, which also features the emotive vocals and lyrics of Victoria Port, singer-songwriter from duo Anushka, to the ethereal 4hero-inspired and LP opener “Infinity” with Abacus, (who’s additional production is tangled throughout the web of the record), the colossus bruk-bass riddim “Copacetic” with More Times co-founder Sam Interface, and “More Love feat. Brint Story” linking with the legendary broken beat don Kaidi Tatham. “More Life” is a deeper cut blending orchestral strings, piano and emotive lyricism, the stylistic track features the alter ego of Harry Bryson from drum & bass duo Pola & Bryson, under his Abacus moniker on additional production, and Victoria Port on vocals.

‘We Are The Magic’ is released on double vinyl and digital. The digital album is out now, vinyl drops on Friday 5th May https://truthoughts.ffm.to/watm.OWE